Welcome from the Chair of Governors


Our Governing Body is made up of 17 Governors:

  • 1 Headteacher
  • 1 Staff Governor, elected by staff
  • 1 Local Authority Governor, appointed by the Governing Body
  • 2 Parent Governors, elected by parents
  • 10 Co-opted Governors, appointed by the Governing Body
  • 2 Foundation Governors, appointed by the Governing Body.

Governing Bodies have a strategic role in the development of the school while the day-to-day management issues are the responsibility of the Senior Leadership Team.  Governors work closely with the Senior Leadership Team to ensure the best possible provision for children at Meadowfield School.

Each Governor is a member of at least one Governing Body Team – Strategy, Resources or Learning and Development. Every Team meets three times a year and the Full Governing Body meet at least three times every year. Minutes of these meetings are available on request from the Clerk to the Governors in the School Office.

All Governors are assigned as “link governor” to one or more objective on the School’s Strategic Improvement Plan (SIP) and make regular monitoring visits to school (at least 3 times per school year) to meet with the member of staff with lead responsibility for that objective. At these meetings Governors monitor progress towards targets in each objective, look for evidence that shows progress and note key successes or any areas for development. Governors then report back to the Governing Body and make their recommendations of priorities for the next Strategic Plan.

Our current Governors are as follows:



Ms J Palmer

Staff Governor:                          

Miss D Simms

Local Authority Governor:



Parent Governors:

Mrs D Hancock

Mrs G Preston

Co-Opted Governors:

Mrs K Alderdice

Mrs Y Cherry

Mrs C Gower

Mr A Martin

Miss S Mitchell

Mrs A Sequeira

Foundation Governors:

Mrs R Kane

Chair of Governors

Mrs R Kane

Clerk to the Governors

Mrs K Wilson


In addition to their membership of one of the Governing Body Teams, some Governors have specific roles and responsibilities as follows:

Safeguarding                                                       Mrs Y Cherry

Training and Development                                Mrs K Alderdice

Self Evaluation and Monitoring                          Mrs K Alderdice

Health and Safety                                               Mrs D Hancock

SEN                                                                        Mrs R Kane


If you would like any further information about the Governing Body, or would like to contact any Governor, please contact the Clerk to the Governors.

 Register of Governors Business Interests 2016-2017